Omtech K40+ and Omtech 50w power differences?

I’m not sure if this is a software setting or not and I have limited experience so any help is appreciated.

I have a 1 month old K40+ that I absolutely love. I run it on light burn, did my material tests and made some outstanding pieces. The only downside is the workspace, so I scored a deal on an older 50w Omtech and tried using my material settings with it and they are nowhere near close.

For instance, on 1/8" Birch ply, 275mm@14% I get a great photo engraving, nice depth, color, etc. I tried the same settings on the 50w and it gave a very lackluster finish, like a very light pencil etching. So I bumped up the power to 20% and it burned the edges, while still giving a faint image. It also will have random “shadows” and high power lines.

I also cannot get it to fire properly under 11.5% while the K40 will do 3-4% no problem.

Any insight?

Since the K40+ doesn’t use a minimum/maximum power setting I’ve been wa dering around wasting materials. I have included the run time on the machine in case the tube or power supply was weak but seems to have low actual working hours.

I primarily want to use it for acrylic engraving on 1/8 but these power settings are much too strong for what I was doing with the K40

In addition to having a diode laser, I have had a “normal” K40 with Mini GRBL and a OMT 60 watt laser.
I was very fond of my K40 as you are and also only had the bed as criticism point.
But, the problems that you describe I do not mean I have had. Once the mirrors and lens are perfectly adjusted and the focus is on spot, I can make very fine and delicate engravings with my 60 watt laser, which is probably more a 50 watt or something in this direction. It demands quite a bit of time and many experiments to find the correct settings and reminds me of the transition from diode laser to CO2 laser.