Please rethink whole Font Management

In my opinion Lighburn’s font management is its weak point, because in all other aspects it is excellent in my opinion.

Why do I say this?

You can’t use full font families: I’m a designer and have a big investment in professional fonts which come in many weight and style variations. Not being able to use fonts to their full potential and only in two versions (normal and bold) is a big shortcoming, I have to go between Illustrator and Lightburn all the time.

The font search is not friendly: I think the entire font search section should be redesigned, it is not enough to have a list, typing the name should appear a drop-down box with the fonts that match the search, and their preview , not like now that it looks like a select html field.

The most used fonts, or the fonts used in the document, should appear first in the list. It is very likely that they are what you are looking for - There is a recent fonts option already implemented

They should be able to favorite fonts for frequent use. - This option is already implemented

When you select a text and go to the font list, it doesn’t always open with the selected font visible, sometimes it goes up again and starts with the alphabetical list from A. This is a bug.

I created a feature request with this points here: Re-think Font Managment in Lightburn. · LightBurn

4 Likes

I see this feature request is already posted on the feature request site.

If you haven’t upvoted this feature already, please click on the link and do so.

I will link this post to the feature request so others can find this comprehensive comment.

I can’t say that this will be handled immediately but I’ll post it internally for comment and attempt to get an idea of interest or scheduling.

3 Likes

Great! Thank you! There are a lot of points there, i think the more neccesary is whole font family, the other ones are for speeding the process and a better experience using the software.