Questions about use and setup for Lightburn GRBL version on Linux

I’m hoping to get some feedback here as a sounding board for my dilemmas…
I have been using Lightburn since early 2000 on a simple HP Win 10 Laptop with minimal specifications and not had any issues. Unfortunately, this laptop does not meet Win 11 upgrade requirements and since there is SO much telemetry being built into most commercial operating systems today, I’m strongly contemplating a move to Linux since we have 3 Win 10 machines that will go unsupported in about a year and a half. It’s not that we can’t or won’t buy newer computers, it’s that I’m not sure I want to stay on that platform and the ones we have do what we need them to do.
Here are my basic questions based on what I have read here and the idea that my only way of running Linux without sacrificing one of my Win10 installations is through a virtual machine. I’m not anxious to go straight to Linux for my Lightburn machine because so far, my VM experience with Linux Mint has been intimidating.
I understand that it may be possible to plead my case with Lightburn Support to get permission to use it in a VM to confirm that I am even capable of configuring it to operate. Once successful, I have no issue doing a complete reformat and install of Linux. Is using a VM a waste of time for a Linux Newbie that has fair technical but weak networking/comms/Linux ability?
I am just trying to prevent killing my Lightburn rig that works just fine, in an experiment to see if Linux and I can get along…
All advice would be greatly appreciated.
My laser is a Sainsmart Genmitsu Jinsoku LC-60A, 5.5W, diode, grbl controller.

Thanks in advance

I believe you can use current version of Lightburn in Windows for a long time, even after win10 ran out of Microsoft support.
There is a program to block access to internet temporary or permanently per program basis called Netlimiter.
For Linux maybe @berainlb or @jkwilborn can help.

1 Like