Questions regarding Lightburn and Engraver

So Im new to engraving and working with lightburn/etc. I recently purchased the ebay cheapo engraver and it works pretty well. My main complaint is the software, which is what brings me here. So here we go with the questions ;

1. I am not sure which controller I have, but I keep seeing people post pics of the ‘nano’ and it looks a bit similar to mine. But I’m not sure which controller it is. I will attach a pic.
  2. Will this controller need to be flashed to utilize lightburn?
  3. Would it be better to replace the controller with a higher quality controller? and if so, which?
  4. Can the 2500mw laser be upgraded to a more powerful laser for deeper cuts?
  5. Can the gantry (or whatever its called in the laser world) be enlarged to do larger media?

1. Yes, the little blue board is an Arduino nano clone. These typically use GRBL firmware.
  2. Depends on what firmware it currently has.
  3. Not really.
  4. Yes, there are more powerful laser heads available. Whether or not there is any benefit to them depends on what you are trying to accomplish.
  5. Maybe. It depends on the system you bought. Do you have a link we can look at or can you post a picture of it. It may or may not be worth enlarging this one vs buying a larger system.

how can I check the firmware? The software it comes with is very yawn lackluster. And feels more like a clipart program you find in the bargain bin at walmart.

Attached is the pic of the unit. Here is the ebay link for it as well.

If I do flash it or have to flash it, is it possible to revert it to defaults in case I need to sell it or anything like that?

Currently I’m just burning words into solid stock as small signs for my planters (yeah i know…kinda nerdy) But plan on using it to cut acrylic and ABS (1/4") in the near future. I also would like to use it to cut small sheets of ply for diorama building and constructing buildings for my trains.