Ruida Controller Misses Part of Design / Stops Firing Laser

Hey all, I have just got a Ruida controlled machine and running LB via ethernet from a Windows PC.

Just come to do a burn and the first row are great, second row has a small gap where the laser has stopped firing and started again, and the 3rd row has roughly 8-10mm gap where the laser has stopped firing, then started again as the gantry has moved.

Any ideas how to troubleshoot? I am new to Ruida. Thanks

Photos for reference, all done in the same job. Top one was first to be done, on a line with 3, middle was 2nd again, 3 in the line and bottom last with 3 again. All lines turned out identical

What are you engraving and what kind of machine are you using?

Your profile doesn’t help and it’s hard to answer without knowing what you are up to… and with what

If these are brass challenge coins on a co2 laser… I have questions…

:smile_cat:

Vector engrave on to mirror acrylic. 300mm/s at 6% on a Chinese 50w machine :slight_smile:

Do you have the ability to send to file to engrave directly from your laser as oppesed to any possible buffer issues from PC to Laser ?

I have no idea how to save to an .rd file

It’s very likely that the 6% power is the problem. Most dc excited co2 do not lase at such low power settings.

Mine won’t lase down at power levels that low… I’d suggest you up the power and adjust speed… I can lase at around 9%, depending on the ambient temperature, but I try to keep the minimum near 10%.

A good test is to just bump the power to 10%, might scorch a part, but it will help identify the issue.

Good luck

1 Like

Processing: IMG_1893(1).JPG…
Starting to feel like this is my issue…it’s split on mirror one too.

Is the beam not in TEM0 mode resonance? Is that what you mean…?

Have patience for the machine to upload your photo… it didn’t make it… so I’m guessing…

Did you try the power change?

Sorry… I was more patient this time haha. Yes, I think so