Run outline not working with Snapmaker 2.0 (exported gcode)

I’m loving Lightburn for what it can do. I’m just learning how to use it with my Snapmaker 2.0 and I posted an extensive how to burn tile on the Snapmaker forums (Laser etching tiles: experiments and step by step instructions - Snapmaker 2.0 - Snapmaker: where creation happens)

I’m currently using LB to export gcode to USB and then sneakernet the USB to the Snapmaker.

The file imports perfectly but after I set my origin and then tell the Snapmaker to run the outline, it is waaaaaay off - either just moving back and forth in a line (if I choose lower left corner for work and user origin) or tracing a square (actually a rectangle but the image is a 6x6 inch square) that is the wrong size and off the tile (if I choose middle of the tile for work and user origin). Despite the weird boundary trace, the tile burns perfectly well, perfectly aligned on the tile.

Any idea why this is so off?

1 Like

Having the same issue. From what I’ve read, the touchscreen “Run boundary” will not work. But the boundary functions in lightburn should if you’re connected to the snapmaker via USB.

If one of you with hardware can produce a simple file (like a circle or a square) using the stock software, and show me a GCode output that does frame properly I can try to mimic that.

My A350 laser is currently burning a large project (generated by Lightburn!), so I can’t double check the gcode file, but here are files generated by Luban (Snapmaker’s program - you can dl for free at https://luban.xyz/ ) and Lightburn. Note the A350 wants laser gcode files named .nc.

I tried to get both programs to generate the gcode with the center of the design as the origin.

I hope this helps - my burn will take another 2 days (!) - a 12 inch round 600 lpi 2 pass wood plaque) but maybe you can see if these gcode files solve the mystery?

Rename the files from.txt to .nc (or .gc) - the forum won’t let me attach them otherwise.