Settings to cut a piece of plexiglass

HI, as mentioned in my last post, I am a laser newbie and am LOVING Lightburn. It makes it so much easier for newbies!

Up until now, I have only been using the software to engrave or burn through powder coating. My latest project, however, is to cut plexiglass into a shape. Can anyone help me on what settings I would need to use to cut all the way through? I really don’t even know where to begin.

Thanks for any help you guys can provide!

Sondra

1 Like

we need to know what kind of machine you have

1 Like

Hi,
Is the plexiglass cast acrylic or extruded?
Secondly, what thickness are you going to use?

1 Like

I have a Chinese Laser 60 watt with a Ruida controller. I don’t know if it is cast or extruded, it is the cheap stuff from Home Depot and is .093" thick.

Hi Sondra, I would suggest that you find some leftover pieces of the materials that you want to work with and do some testing. It’s not because I do not want to help you, contrary. The best experience you can get with different materials and your specific machine will come from these tests. If you start with e.g. 4mm acrylic you could use 50% power and start with 750 mm / min speed, depending on the result, throttle or set the speed up until you get a fine glossy cutting surface. When you feel a little more confident, you can of course also turn up the power. I do tests of all the materials I work with and save a reference piece with the optimal settings gravered on this piece. Good luck and I hope you also enjoy the learning process itself.

2 Likes

I think @Bernd is spot on and good advice. .093" thick is less than 2.5mm thick to will cut at low power and high speed. In this case start testing around 12mm/sec at 60% power (you’ll have to calculate that into the old money :roll_eyes:) and speed up from there until it just gets through it.
Remember, all lasers, even the same spec, will perform differently so test test ten. It’s worth investion the time.

1 Like