Special requirements for wireless camera solution

Hi all,

I’m still very new to the scene (only got my first laser a few weeks back). I’m already getting sick of having to keep adjusting the position of my wood until it is exactly where I need it to be, especially because my pc is a few rooms away from the laser as I have managed to network in to it.

I would like to use a camera with lightburn, so I can just place my material, go to my pc and move my vectors to where they need to be, but I have 2 issues/things that need to be considered.

My laser (atomstack S20 pro) is in an enclosure that is only around 380mm high, so the camera would need to fit inside that and still be able to see the whole work area (so assume it would need to be a wide angled lens).

The second and more important thing to me, is that all of the camera’s that I’ve found that are specifically designed to attach to the frames, are all connected using USB (not an option as I am in another room).

Has anyone been in the same situation and have found a solution? I think what I need is some kind of wireless wide-angle camera that can be seen by Lightburn and be easily attached to the frame?

Thanks in advance,
Phil

Change how you think about this problem, because the best solution does not require a camera.

I assume the laser has homing switches and that homing operates correctly when you turn it on. If that’s not the case, then other considerations apply.

With the laser head properly homed, you can use Absolute Coordinates so that the LightBurn workspace exactly matches the laser’s platform. You place an object where you want it in LightBurn and the laser will cut it at exactly that spot on the platform, every time.

You can then cut a fixture to hold objects at the proper spot(s). Put the fixture on the platform, drop the objects in place, align the fixture using Print-and-Cut, and It Just Works™.

For example, some plant markers in their fixture:

The template to lay them out: