Strange texture while engraving

I’m new to Lightburn and still looking if it’s worth to buy a license after the trial ends.
My laser is an Atomstack P9 M50, I’m doing a lot of engraving test with different materials with the builtin “Material Test” function.
What I get as result is a strange pattern while engraving, not consistent between power and speed.
I attach a picture because it’s difficult to explain.
Line markings seems not affected, but everything is “Fill” result with this distorted texture, on the box with speed 200 and power 10 it seems that the Laser power fluctuates.
I’m not sure if it’s software or hardware related and what to do to resolve the problem.

post here the value of $120 $121 $122

1 Like

This pattern called “Moire”. This is most likely frequency beat between Laser PWM and stepping.

Atomstack P9 M50 has ESP32 micro, meaning that almost certainly it runs variety of FluidNC. That in turn has laser power PWM frequency adjustable. I believe this is $33 settings (please verify, I’m not sure). Default on most is 1KHz. Try to go up to 8KHz.

Not to leave other possibilities - Looking at zeros on the left - there is a lot of wobble. Can be just the way machine tuned or running too fast, but also can be the sign that something is loose. If changing PWM frequency does not help - try to tighten rollers and belts.

1 Like

i’m happy to always learn new things in this forum :smiley:

1 Like

Let’s first get confirmation from Ettore that this is in fact a solution, then we can celebrate.
(Unfortunately most will never come back to confirm, or not for that matter)

1 Like

you don’t know how much you are rigth on this…

1 Like

Axis acceleration is 500, I already lowered it from 1000 factory preset