Test fire access disabled in Lightburn version 0.9.24

Hey their, I’m fairly new to lightburn.
My machine is a co2 laser cutter with a Ruida RDC6442G controller.

I was watching several you tube videos, where in them a macro was added to enable a “Test fire” button to be added to the GUI. When I go to follow the steps mentioned in the video, as well as the steps mentioned in the this post found Here

, I don’t see the same things on my version of lightburn. My version of lightburn is 0.9.24 . The steps I’m following are, Edit → Device settings → ??? Their is supposed to be an option for enabling a test fire button. I don’t seem to have this option. here is a screen capture of what my version looks like.

You may have missed this important part,

“Generally speaking, a test fire button would be on your controller, unless you have a diode laser and are looking for a way to enable for focusing, in which case…”

From our documentation (I made bold to stand out),

Enable laser fire button

Diode lasers often don’t have a red-dot pointer like CO2 lasers do, so it is often useful to enable them at low power for focusing or framing. (Please do NOT do this if you have a CO2 laser, as the beam is invisible and this could blind you or start a fire). Turning on this setting will enable a button and a power setting on the Move Window that allows you to turn on the laser at low power for focusing and positioning.

You have a Ruida controller and that is where test firing is done, using the HMI panel. :slight_smile:

Why are their youtube videos describing how to do this for previous versions of light burn, and why did this feature get removed in this version of lightburn?