Universal Engraver 3000 set up

Good Morning,

I am very new to lasers and just put together my first Universal Engraver 3000 mW. I was not comfortable with the Ben box software and came across yours and it has great reviews. I downloaded it and am on the second day of my trial. I could not get the software to recognize my laser! I imagine it is a grbl but I am not sure since I am so new to this!

I am pretty sure I am doing something wrong and would appreciate some help in getting it set up and working! Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you!

I am having the same exact issue. I cannot figure out how to get LightBurn to communicate with my laser. When I click devices the “find my laser”, it does not find it, even with USB cable connected. I was advised to “create manually”, and I have tried every different variation of GRBL and entered in my dimensions, no matter what, I continue to get the error message, “There was a problem sending data to the laser. The machine may be busy or paused”. I have purchased lightburn already. This is my very first laser as well. Not even being able to figure out the basics at this point is very disheartening. Please help.

There’s your problem. The machine probably has it’s own version of grbl. Re-flash it with grbl 1.1f. and go through the setup to configure it for laser.

Don’t forget to grab all your settings beforehand ($$ - save to file), otherwise you will have to go through stepper calibration, etc.

If you have the same machine, the same answer applies- flash load a ‘proper’ grbl version on your board.

Benbox is not supported by LightBurn. You would need to change the firmware to a supported version of GRBL as the others have said.

I know this probably sounds like a very dumb question, but how do I “re-flash” it with grbl 1.1?