Y Axis is cutting fine, X Axis is "patchy"

Now, i’m in a weird spot where I have a dual laser, and both lasers are creating the same problem, so i’m fairly certain this isn’t “an alignment problem” but it could still be a hardware problem?

I’ve been using this laser for almost two years now with no major problems until recently, I noticed the X AXIS cuts are patchy which the Y AXIS cuts are smooth. To clarify, the X AXIS cuts aren’t wobbly or anything like that, they are specifically “patchy” almost as if the laser isn’t consistently firing when it addresses the X AXIS?

Please let me know if you need any further information, I’ve tried so much already but I really am at a loss here.

System is a Generic Dual Laser Reci 100W, running Ruida 6445G

I generally cut 3mm at 25mm/s, if that helps.

Thank you :slight_smile:

What are you cutting? 3mm thick at 25mm/S seems slow. What power?

Can you post a picture of the issue?

Hey Joel, thanks for replying :slightly_smiling_face:

Sorry, I mainly cut MDF and Acrylic. I ran some more tests and it’s weird. The issue is only happening on certain parts of the bed, but as I say, it’s a dual laser, so it’s wrecking my brain as it’s happening at the same spots for both lasers, but not everywhere. It is repeatable though. So every cut will fail in the same locations, though on different designs its less noticeable…

It’s really frustrating me, hoping for some pointers!

As you’ll see in the photo all Y Axis cuts are fine and the X Axis cuts seem to be dotted/patchy. On that cut, two of the same cut to the right were fine, but the leftmost one had this problem

Oh, and this photo is from the BACK of the cut, the side not facing the laser, from the top it appears normal, but when you break the piece out, you can see that the failure is most of the way back up

When I look closely at the horizontal lines I see where is seems to skip and also where it is jagged.