Camera alignment is accurate only with the 4 targets but not anything else you add

I have a diode laser ortur master 2 15w. I installed a camera dead all the steps successfully all the images taken were under 0.09 except for a couple that were 0.12. when I jog the laser to the 4 targets they go right in the center but when I put an object in the middle and select the top corner it jogs about an inch away from it. What can I do to fix this

If I understand, when you calibrated the camera you are able to hit TDC on the targets. But when you add an object, something about the calibration changes?

At any point in your process has the distance from the Top of Material (ToM) to your camera changed? If so, that is your problem.

Nothing changed… When I put a piece that I want to engrave and take a screen capture and I come to send the laser to one of the corners it’s always off by an inch or so… But if I send the laser to one of the four targets or the center it will go to that exact location

For this example:

Please measure and share with me the distance between the LightBurn camera and surface of the material with the filled targets.

For this example:

Please measure and share with me the distance between the LightBurn camera and the top surface of the hammer’s handle.

This is roughly where I had it the strange thing is it will go to all four targets and the center circle but if I place any object it won’t go

I have an idea that the camera should be aligned at the height of the work … You have the alignment on the table, but the engraving plane is much higher …

But it has. You just illustrated that when you place your hammer on the bed, the distance from the ToM of the hammer is shorter than what you calibrated the camera to (the ToM of your bed).

I was thinking about that but then won’t that defeat the purpose of having a camera, where every time you put in a new material you have to reprogram the camera