Can Lightburn be used to run a CNC plasma cutter as well as a Laser cutter

Hi, All I’m only new to this so please bear with me.
Can I use Lightburn to run a CNC Plasma cutter as well as a laser cutter
I’m trying to streamline the operation and running so my wife and I only have to learn one programe.
I assume you should be able to switch between machines just like having to select between two printers on the same network.

Thanks in advance
Steve

I bet it could if you ran the plasma cutter off of a laser controller that it supports. The only thing you would not have is THC possibly. I keep meaning to find myself a a spare Ruida controller to build a LightBurn controlled plasma cutter. I have the plasma cutter, the motion control, the steel, and LightBurn. I just need a controller and time.

The first question to ask is which Controller does your CNC Plasma cutter use? If it’s a GRBL based controller, then, the first order problem is solved and LB can drive your cutter’s Torch On/Off, X,Y, and Speed commands.

@Stroonzo hit on the second order problem and that is control of THC & Z, but there’s also Pierce Delay (a vital parameter in PC) that doesn’t have any direct mapping to LB controls.

As far as I know, there is no published means to modify post processors for LB. If this is true then you’d be hard pressed to tailor a PP to work optimally with your PC.

1 Like

Ha! I was going to mention that as well, but I thought… info overload :slight_smile: Oh, and Pierce Delay with Pierce Height / Power specificity.

I have CNC plasma cutting working reliably and fluid with LB.
My CNC system consists of:

See this post for full details: Update on plasma use case success, albeit post processing gcode

I’m happy to answer questions and offer assistance for anyone interested in replicating the process.

Cheers,
Lou

3 Likes

Ok, that setup makes sense as it isn’t ‘run’ by LB. LB is simply the ‘CAD/CAM(partial)’ tool.