Dual Laser and Image Quality

My goal is to acquire a laser engraver to do granite engraving with high quality photos, while also having the flexibility to cut thicker materials efficiently.

I have the ability to get a machine with a dual laser with these various setups.

• Reci W1 and Reci W6
  • Diode laser and Reci W6
  • single Reci W2

I’ve read diodes have the smallest beam dot size outside of UV lasers. I’ve also heard that 150W W6 lasers have wider beams and therefore have a harder time with precision engraving.

So would a Reci W1 with a focal lense that creates a very small beam dot be a better bet than a diode laser for image quality?

If diode is the answer, which diode head should I use with a Ruida RDC6445S controller?

Any help is appreciated as I’m new to all of this

Do you have a link for this? I’ve really never seen a regular diode laser mated with a co2 system…

The lenses ability to make a focused ‘dot’ is a function of the size of the beam going into the lens. So a larger diameter beam entering will produce a smaller spot.

That probably isn’t the issue. If I’m engraving something on my 40W laser at 10% power you can equate that to 4W… Usually enough for a photograph… if not I can run at 20% or 8W…

With a 150W tube, you probably can’t fire it below nearly 20%… that means the lowest power you can control would be 30W which would sizzle something that only required 4W.

All the hobby lases are driven on and off by a pwm signal from the controller. The Ruida sends a pwm for the entire time it’s running the layer and uses another signal (L-On1) to fire the laser.

You couldn’t directly drive these lasers directly from a Ruida without some external logic.

Good luck

:smile_cat:

This person was able to do it apparently.

If you notice, he had to build external hardware to control the led… Didn’t say it wasn’t possible, just I’d assumed you were going to buy one configured this way… and that the led laser isn’t directly driven by the Ruida.