Lost... doubling a single line?

Hi guys and gals…
so I’m new to ALL this. bare with me please!

I created a PNG image and imported it LightBurn. Can someone please tell me how to convert the PNG image in light burn to burn the image. The only way I can figure out how to do it is by selecting and “tracing” the image BUT when I do that my laser literally traces around a thin line. I do NOT want it to do that. I just want it to burn the line not actually trace around the thin line nor do I want it to fill anything. I just want it to go over the line a single time. Hopefully that makes sense.

Thanks in advance!!

Not really, but that is ok, we can start with working with an image. Read here to see the options available to process and run an engraving of the image. https://lightburnsoftware.github.io/NewDocs/CutSettings-Image.html

Please show what you are working with and an example of what you want the resulting job to produce, or how you want this job to look when lased.

Consider to post your png file so a better reference can be made with respect to your starting point, which will make accomplishing your goal easier to assist.

Here is the image. When I am burning the wood the laser is tracing around each individual line. Instead of just burning the line a single.

1 Like

The format of your drawing causes everything to be interpreted as inner line and outer line. (simple explanation)
When I scan and trace your image and delete all inner lines I get something that can be engraved as a single line per object.

logotest.lbrn2 (95.6 KB)

is there an easy solution for someone new to this problem?

You could just run as an image? I would set to ‘Threshold’ and play with the ‘Line interval’ to get the desired look. What is the final output size? You may find a single line cut setting to be too “thin” of a line-weight look unless produced in a small version.