No effect on glass, even at 200/100%

Engraving newbie here! I wanted to create suncatchers from the old lids of candles, but no matter the speed/power settings nothing engraves the glass. I made sure the laser was focused. It burns into wood and paper just fine, but zero effect whatsoever on glass. :woman_shrugging:t3:

1 Like

A diode laser will not engrave glass, the beam will just shine through. I have never tried it, but some people have had some limited success by coating the glass with a dark paint then engraving, removing the paint afterwards

1 Like

@Mooseuk Hmm that’s new info to me… the product description definitely says it will engrave glass??

Are you using black glass? That’s what is shown in that photo and may be one of the few colors that has a chance of working. Anything clear or translucent to visible light doesn’t have much chance.

@Hank The glass pictured isn’t black, it just has a black paper behind it so you can see the words. If you zoom in you can see the words also overlap whatever pink thing is in the background.

Gee, I dunno. I zoomed way in and it doesn’t look etched at all to me. It looks like words photoshopped over a background. It has none of the frosted appearance I’ve come to expect from etched glass.

It’s a low-res screenshot off of a product description :woman_shrugging:t3: I wouldn’t think it would be super easy to tell. What I’m saying is the product description where I purchased it says it engraves on glass. If they’re inaccurately marketing it I’m annoyed.

Please keep us posted how you get on. Try some dark colors, black, red, colors that give maximum absorption to blue light.

I can guarantee you are not going to etch clear glass with it unless it’s got some kind of coating to absorb the energy and transfer it to the glass.

looks like a mirror to me, you can remove the backside of the mirror and paint the removed bit to make it readable.