Repeat Laser Image in the Same Spot

Hi

New to this and trying to laser multiple items with the same image, so have placed the blank in the same location but image seems to laser in slightly different location. might only be 1mm or 2 different but makes it difficult to produce multiple items such a coasters the same as the image moves. am I doing something wrong or is it a normal problem.

Do you always ‘Home’ before the next cut ? I found that if I didn’t, the next cut could be slightly off.
To avoid this I added $H to the ‘Start Gcode’ tab in Lightburn (device settings then Gcode). I haven’t had a problem since.
Hope this helps

In machine settings set $1 = 255 that will keep motors powered between jobs and hold position.

I’m somewhat new to LightBurn and lasers, is there any downside to keeping the steppers always enabled? I’m on this and other forums trying to learn as much as I can about LightBurn and my OLM2P (like homing after each run and $H), which is why I’m asking.

Yes there is a downside to keeping the motors constantly engaged they get hot, but its quite simple after a batch of the same work to use $slp command and disengage them until rehoming is needed for the next job, I always keep my motors engaged unless i know the machine is going to be sat idle for more more than 30 mins. You can also get some heatsinks from E-bay for nema 17 motors with the stick on heat pads to attach, they help , but stepper motors getting hot is pretty normal, and even hotter than can able to touch should not concern, so just use one of the Macro buttons in Lightburn so its an easy click to sleep the motors only takes a click then.
To be honest with Ortur using acrylic gantries, I would imagine that over time with use the heat from the steppers would distort the acrylic any way, and may even come loose with heating and cooling, just need to keep an eye on that. and seriously consider some heatsinks for the back plate of the motors.