Slipping of text and image

Hi, I am fairly new to lasering. I have a 60w co2 Ruida machine which is only 6 months old. I have been having non stop issues with it slipping. I have checked the belts and pully and everything is perfect. I have spoken with the company where we purchased the machine, and they advised to do a test back on there software, which seemed to be fine. I re tested on lightburn and it slipped yet again. I am wasting granite material, which is costly as you can appreciate, and I am hoping someone can advise me what could be the issue I am experiencing. The template is a photo and text, do I have the correct settings of 400 speed for both or is this still too fast? Thank you

why not do your tests and tweaks on cardboard or plywood?
It’s not the best photo to see the problem, but from what I can see it’s the steps that are being skipped.

1 Like

Hi, I do tests on ply etc and it is so random. It will work fine on one plaque, I then clean any debris off of the lense head and do the next one, and it slips again. I am engraving on granite and wondering if this is a common issue

It is a mechanical problem (most likely) and has nothing to do with the choice of material.
Troubleshooting can be tricky at times, I have read from people who have had a loose pin screw in one of the small pulleys.

1 Like

It would be helpful to see the *lbrn2 file so we can look at the details.

If the text is done as a Line, rather than Fill, then 400 mm/s is likely much too high: the machine will be unable to reach that peak speed and may die trying.

With the power turned off and pushing slowly by hand, does the laser head move smoothly left-to-right and the gantry front-to-back? If you feel any roughness or obstruction or sudden looseness, particularly in the left-to-right direction, that may stall the motor. This seems unlikely, but is easy to check.

How do I share the file? The text is a fill

Drag-n-drop it on your reply or hit the Upload icon along the top row.